Happy Birthday Guitarist Slash

Slash, the English-born American Solo Artist and former guitarist with Guns N’ Roses was born 23rd July 1965. Guns N’ Roses were formed in Los Angeles, California, in 1985. The classic lineup, as signed to Geffen Records in 1986, consisted of vocalist Axl Rose, lead guitarist Slash, rhythm guitarist Izzy Stradlin, bassist Duff McKagan, and drummer Steven Adler. Today, Axl Rose is the only remaining original member, in a lineup that comprises Use Your Illusion–era keyboardist Dizzy Reed, lead guitarists DJ Ashba and Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, lead and rhythm guitarist Richard Fortus, bassist Tommy Stinson, drummer Frank Ferrer and keyboard player Chris Pitman. The band has released six studio albums.

Guns N’ Roses’ debut album Appetite for Destruction reached No. 1 on the Billboard 200, hit “Sweet Child o’ Mine“, became their only single to reach No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 and The album became the best-selling debut album of all time in the U.S. Thanks to songs like Paradise City and Welcome to the Jungle

The success of their debut was followed by the eight-song album G N’ R Lies. The twin albums Use Your Illusion I and Use Your Illusion II, which debuted at No. 2 and No. 1 on the Billboard 200. The cover album “The Spaghetti Incident?” was the band’s last studio album to feature Slash and McKagan.

After more than a decade of work and many lineup changes, Guns N’ Roses released the long-awaited album Chinese Democracy in 2008 which, at an estimated fourteen million dollars in production costs, made it the most expensive album to ever be produced in music history. It debuted at No. 3 on the Billboard 200 but underwhelmed industry expectations, despite mostly positive critical reception.

Guns N’ Roses have been credited with reviving the mainstream popularity of rock ‘n’ roll, at a time when popular music was dominated by dance music and pop metal. Their late 1980s and early 1990s years have been described as the period in which they brought forth a “hedonistic rebelliousness” reminiscent of the early Rolling Stones, a reputation that had earned them the nickname “The Most Dangerous Band in the World” The band’s classic lineup, along with later members Reed and drummer Matt Sorum, were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2012, their first year of eligibility

Since leaving Guns’n’Roses Slash has gone on to become a successful solo artist in his own right, so courtesy of YouTube….

Happy birthday Martin Gore

I have been a big fan Electoronc Synth band Depeche Mode ever since the 80’s so I thought I would do a post about Martin Gore, The Keyboard Player and Guitarist with Depeche Mode, who was born 23rd July 1961, so I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to post even more Depeche Mode songs.

Depeche Mode were formed in 1980 in Basildon, Essex. The group’s original line-up consisted of Dave Gahan (lead vocals), Martin Gore (keyboards, guitar, vocals, chief songwriter after 1981), Andy Fletcher (keyboards) and Vince Clarke (keyboards, chief songwriter 1980–81). Vince Clarke left the band after the release of their 1981 debut album, Speak & Spell, and was replaced by Alan Wilder (keyboards, drums, occas tional songwriter) with Gore taking over songwriting. Wilder left the band in 1995 and since then Gahan, Gore, and Fletcher have continued as a trio. Martin Gore is also currently pursuing a collaboration with Vince Clarke on the Album VCMG-Ssss.

Depeche Mode have had 48 songs in the UK Singles Chart including “Enjoy the Silence” “Policy of Truth” “Personal Jesus“  “World in My Eyes””Never Let Me Down Again” and “Walking in My Shoes” twelve top 10 albums in the UK charts, two of which debuted at #1. According to EMI, Depeche Mode have sold over 100 million albums and singles worldwide, making them the most successful electronic band in music history. Q magazine calls Depeche Mode “The most popular electronic band the world has ever known” and included the band in the list of the “50 Bands That Changed The World!”. In 2010 Depeche Mode were ranked No. 98 on VH1′s list of the “100 greatest artists of all time”.

German Grand Prix 2012

Results for the German Grand Prix 2012 22nd July 2012 at Hockenheim

1 F Alonso Ferrari
2 S Vettel Red Bull
3 J Button McLaren
4 K Raikkonen Lotus
5 K Kobayashi Sauber
6 S Perez Sauber
7 M Schumacher Mercedes
8 M Webber Red Bull
9 N Hulkenberg Force India
10 N Rosberg Mercedes
11 P Di Resta Force India
12 F Massa Ferrari
13 D Ricciardo Toro Rosso
14 J Vergne Toro Rosso
15 P Maldonado Williams
16 V Petrov Caterham
17 B Senna Williams
18 R Grosjean Lotus
19 H Kovalainen Caterham
20 C Pic Marussia
21 P de la Rosa HRT
22 T Glock Marussia
23 N Karthikeyan HRT
24 L Hamilton McLaren