Posted in films & DVD, music

Led Zeppelin – Celebration Day

On December 10, 2007, Led Zeppelin took the stage at London’s O2 Arena to headline a tribute concert for dear friend and Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun. What followed was a two-hour-plus tour de force of the band’s signature blues-infused rock ’n’ roll that instantly became part of the legend of Led Zeppelin. Founding members Robert Plant, Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones were joined by Jason Bonham, (son of Zeppelin’s late drummer John, who died in 1980), to perform 16 songs from their celebrated catalog including  “Whole Lotta Love,” “Rock And Roll,” “Kashmir,” and “Stairway To Heaven.”During the show the band members were conscious that it may be the world’s last chance to see Led Zeppelin performing together and it was a critical to get it right because they only had one shot at it.

The legendary show is tight, punchy and unrelenting and was captured on film, and the result, Celebration Day,  is being released on DVD and Blu-ray on November 19th 2012. The two-hour feature length film is presented in high definition video with excellent audio quality (5.1, 48 khz/20 bit hi-resolution audio surround sound). The aspect ratio is 16×9. Already garnering critical acclaim, the film is directed by Dick Carruthers, who worked with Led Zeppelin on their award-winning 2003 release DVD, and includes the entire 16-song concert.  However despite persistent rumours which surrounded the gig the band members have so-far avoided questions about whether they will ever again reunite. The performance has been released in a variety of formats including MP3, CD, Blue Ray, DVD Boxed Set and Vinyl and is also on YouTube although you can’t hope to capture the experience of it live, mind you playing the DVD on a huge TV Screen and cranking the volume up might give you some idea.

LED ZEPPELIN: Celebration Day
Track Listing:
1. Good Times Bad Times
2. Ramble On
3. Black Dog
4. In My Time Of Dying
5. For Your Life
6. Trampled Under Foot
7. Nobody’s Fault But Mine
8. No Quarter
9. Since I’ve Been Loving You
10. Dazed And Confused
11. Stairway To Heaven
12. The Song Remains The Same
13. Misty Mountain Hop
14. Kashmir
15. Whole Lotta Love
16. Rock And Roll

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.