Winter Solstice in the Northern Hemisphere

The winter solstice in the Northern Hemisphere occured at 11.12am on 21st December 2012. It is the time at which the Sun appears at noon at its lowest altitude above the horizon. which usually occurs on December 21 to 22 each year in the Northern Hemisphere, Which is the Summer Solstice in the Southern Hemisphere.

In the Southern Hemisphere the time at which the Sun is at its northernmost point in the sky (I.e The Winter Solstice in the Southern Hemisphere & Summer Solstice in the Northern Hemisphere) usually occurs on June 20 to 21 each year.The axial tilt of Earth and gyroscopic effects of the planet’s daily rotation keep the axis of rotation pointed at the same point in the sky. As the Earth follows its orbit around the Sun, the same hemisphere that faced away from the Sun, experiencing winter, will, in half a year, face towards the Sun and experience summer. Since the two hemispheres face opposite directions along the planetary pole, as one polar hemisphere experiences winter, the other experiences summer.More evident from high latitudes, a hemisphere’s winter solstice occurs on the shortest day and longest night of the year, when the sun’s daily maximum elevation in the sky is the lowest.

Since the winter solstice lasts only a moment in time, other terms are often used for the day on which it occurs, such as “midwinter”, “the longest night”, “the shortest day” or “the first day of winter”. The seasonal significance of the winter solstice is in the reversal of the gradual lengthening of nights and shortening of days. Worldwide, interpretation of the event has varied from culture to culture, but most Northern Hemisphere cultures have held a recognition of rebirth, involving holidays, festivals, gatherings, rituals or other celebrations around that time.

Snow White premieres on 21st December 1937

The world’s first full-length animated feature, SNOW WHITE & THE SEVEN DWARFS , premiered at the Carthay Circle Theater on December 21st 1937 . Produced by Walt Disney and released by RKO Radio Pictures, it is Based on the German fairy tale by the Brothers Grimm, and was the first full-length cel animated feature film in history, the first produced in full color, the first to be produced by Walt Disney Productions, and the first in the Walt Disney Animated Classics series. The story was adapted by storyboard artists Dorothy Ann Blank, Richard Creedon, Merrill De Maris, Otto Englander, Earl Hurd, Dick Rickard, Ted Sears and Webb Smith. David Hand was the supervising director, while William Cottrell, Wilfred Jackson, Larry Morey, Perce Pearce, and Ben Sharpsteen directed the film’s individual sequences.

Follwing it’s premiere at the Carthay Circle Theatre on December 21, 1937, Snow White was released nationwide on February 4, 1938. It went on to gross a total of $8 million in international receipts in its opening release. The film was added to the United States National Film Registry as being deemed “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant” in 1989. It was one of two animated films to rank in the American Film Institute’s list of the 100 greatest American films of all time in 1997 (the other being Disney’s Fantasia), ranking number 49. It reached number 34 in the list’s 2007 revision, this time being the only traditionally animated film on the list. The AFI named the film as the greatest American animated film of all time in 2008.


Mayan Long Count Calender

The Mayans did not believe that the world will end on Dec 21. The Mayan calender simply starts a new cycle or era, The current (14th) baktun started on — December 21, 2012 using the GMT correlation and We entered a new era in our existence, A new beginning. A renewed enlightenment. According to Mayan beliefs Thirteen long Baktuns ago, way back on August 11 3114 BC our time, the world began. A baktun (properly b’ak’tun, Mayan pronunciation: [ɓakʼˈtun]) is 20 katun cycles of the ancient Maya Long Count Calendar. It contains 144,000 days, equal to 394.26 tropical years. Each era is about 5,125 years. According to the Aztec codices, which are versions of Mayan beliefs, there are five eras, for the five elements, totaling to approximately 26,000 years, the amount of time it takes the Earth to complete one wobble (precession of the equinoxes).

Unfortunately, After the Spanish and Portuguese invaded South America at different times, Catholic clergy gradually destroyed all Mayan books, except for four codices,which give details of the five eras, which are like the four seasons that simply occur one after another cyclically. According to the preserved codices The five eras are:

  • Four Jaguar (Metal)
  • Four Wind (Air)
  • Four Rain (of Fire)
  • Four Water (a flood story similar to Noah’s Ark and the Gilgamesh Epic occurs here 5,000 years ago)
  • Four Movement (Earth) (This is the era of human sacrifice or the Christian Era. This is where the god Quetzalcoatl lives, dies and rises again just like Jesus. Quetzalcoatl saves mankind also by using the blood of his phallus (genitals), which the cross represents. Many other death and resurrection gods like Tammuz (Babylon) and Adonis (Greece) are worshiped in this era. This is also the era of Holy Communion, where the blood and body of the sacrifice is eaten (literally in ancient Mexico and figuratively by Christians). Thus, the Aztecs performed human sacrifice and the Christians killed the Aztecs during this era.).

The era of Four Movement ends on Dec 21st 2012 (or 23) and the new era of Four Jaguar (Metal) officially begins afterward. Although the new era is an age of terror, as the jaguar implies, it is also an intellectual age (Age of Aquarius). “Quetzalcoatl” is expected to “return,” but not as a “sacrificial god” anymore, so spirituality will be renewed as a more solid, reasonable and scientific entity, And it will be an age of irony. It would be like the ending months of winter in terms of temperament or mood, not temperature, and it will last for another 5,000 years. The next era “spring time” or the Age of Four Wind, is due in 5,000 years time.