Posted in music

Songs of Innocence by U2

Lately I have been listening to Songs of Innocence, the thirteenth studio album by Irish rock band U2 which was Released on 9 September 2014 to all iTunes Store customers at no cost, on iTunes, iTunes Radio, and Beats Music until 13 October 2014, when it will receive a physical release by Island Records. It was produced by Danger Mouse, with additional production from Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder, Declan Gaffney and Flood.

Songs of Innocence is U2’s first album since No Line on the Horizon (2009), marking the longest gap between studio albums of U2’s career. During the five-and-a-half year gestation period, the band recorded a variety of material but struggled to complete an album to their satisfaction. Thematically, the record revisits the group members’ youth in Ireland, paying tribute to musical inspirations Ramones and The Clash, while touching on childhood experiences, loves and regrets. Bono described it as “the most personal album we’ve written”. The album’s lead single, “The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)”, is also featured in an Apple television commercial.

“The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)”
“Every Breaking Wave”
“California (There Is No End to Love)”
“Song for Someone”
“Iris (Hold Me Close)”
“Raised by Wolves
“Cedarwood Road”
“Sleep Like a Baby Tonight”
“This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now”
“the Troubles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.