Posted in books, Fantasy, films & DVD

Christopher Paolini

American author Christopher James Paolini was born November 17, 1983, in Los Angeles, California. He was raised in the area of Paradise Valley, Montana. His family members include his parents, Kenneth Paolini and Talita Paolini, and his younger sister, Angela Paolini. Homeschooled for the duration of his education, Paolini graduated from high school at the age of 15 through a set of accredited correspondence courses from the American School of Correspondence in Lansing, Illinois. He currently lives in Paradise Valley, Montana, where he wrote his first book.

Following his high school graduation, he started his work on what would become the novel Eragon, the first of the Inheritance four book series set in the mythical land of Alagaesia. Followed by, Eldest, Brisingr and Inheritance. In 2002, Eragon was published for the first time by Paolini International LLC, Paolini’s parents’ publishing company. To promote the book, Paolini toured over 135 schools and libraries, discussing reading and writing, all the while dressed in “a medieval costume of red shirt, billowy black pants, lace-up boots, and a jaunty black cap.” He drew the cover art for the first edition of Eragon, which featured Saphira’s eye, along with the maps on the inside covers of his books. In 2002, the stepson of author Carl Hiaasen found Eragon in a bookstore and loved it; this led to Hiaasen bringing it to the attention of his publisher, Alfred A. Knopf Who subsequently made an offer to publish Eragon and the rest of the Inheritance cycle. The second edition of Eragon was published by Knopf in August 2003. At the age of nineteen, Paolini became a New York Times bestselling author.

The Inheritance Cycle is Set in the fictional world of Alagaësia the novels focus on the adventures of a teenage boy named Eragon who finds himself thrust into an adventure after discovering what he thinks is a blue rock but which turns out to be a dragon egg. He discovers that an ancient order of Dragon Riders was originally created by elves and dragons millennia earlier, in order to bring peace to the world. However the dragon of One Dragon Rider named Galbatorix was killed by a group of Urgals, this pushed him to insanity, and denied another Dragon by the Council of Elder Riders, Galbatorix blamed the Council for the death of his dragon and sought to destroy the order. He made an alliance with an ambitious young rider, Morzan, and with his help slew another rider and took his next dragon captive, Shruikan. Using magic, he broke Shruikan’s will and forced the dragon to serve him. Gathering more Riders to his cause, he created the Thirteen Forsworn and with their help took over Ilirea, the capital of the Broddring Kingdom, and destroyed Vroengard, the center of the Dragon Riders. Galbatorix slew the Elders, their leader Vrael and took his sword, and most of the Dragon Riders. Elder Rider Oromis and his Dragon Glaedr fled to Ellesmera, the capital of the elves’ kingdom, while Morzan confronted his old friend Brom, slaying his Dragon luckily Brom,escaped. After the fall of the Riders, Galbatorix declared himself King over all of Alagaesia and is trying to destroy all the dragon egg aided by his followers The Forsworn.

Meanwhile Brom created the Varden to oppose the Empire. He is aided by An Elf named Arya who is unfortunately captured by an evil servant of Galbatorix named Durza while delivering a dragon’s egg to Brom. Eragon learns of his own parentage and Brom teaches him Magic and Sword fighting. Then Eragon touches the blue rock which hatches a dragon which he names Saphira and he becomes a dragon rider. Eragon’s cousin, Roran, leaves for a job to earn money so he can start a family with his beloved, Katrina. His uncle, Garrow, is killed by King Galbatorix’s servants, the Ra’zac, and Eragon flees Carvahall with Brom to hunt down the Ra’zac, unaware that Brom is his father. Brom gives Morzan’s sword, Zar’roc, to Eragon. Eragon attempts to rescue Arya and they flee to the Vardan Stronghold of Tronjheim to join Varden’s leader, Ajihad, his daughter Nasuada, the dwarf King Hrothgar, and his foster son Orik, Eragon and Saphira are also tutored by Oromis and Glaedr in Ellesmera and During an elvish Blood-Oath Celebration, Eragon is changed by a symbolic dragon, giving him elf-like abilities to aid his quest to help defeat Galbatorix, Durza and his agents of evil.

Meanwhile Nasuada moves the Varden to Surda which is ruled by King Orrin, and Roran moves the villagers of Carvahall to Surda, after their village is attacked by the Ra’zac, who also capture Katrina. Roran is promoted to Captain while Nasuada allows the Urgals to join the ranks of the Varden. Eragon and Saphira confront Murtagh and Thorn, Murtagh takes Eragon’s sword Zar’roc. Eragon, Saphira, and Roran rescue Katrina. Eragon and Roran destroy much of Helgrind, slaying the Raz’ac while Saphira kills the Lethrblaka, the Raz’ac’s adult form. They then travel to the Beor mountains. Eragon goes back to Du Weldenvarden (the homeland of the elves)and creates his own sword Brisingr, which bursts into flames each time Eragon speaks its name, and learns from Oromis and Glaedr that Brom is his real father and also discovers the source of Galbatorix’s power. Elsewhere The Varden liberate several cities from the Empire, sadly Oromis and Glaedr are killed by Murtagh and Thorn. Eragon then travels to the Vault of Souls on the ruined Vroengard, Where he discovers a massive amount of secret Eldunarí and Dragon eggs hidden from Galbatorix. Unfortunately though Galbatorix also finds them…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.